What a fantastic, high-quality range of entries we have had again this year. There were many, many songs that are worthy of nationwide sing-a-longs. We were also impressed with the aroha which songwriters expressed, at such short notice, in response to the terrible attacks on the people of Christchurch. The Judges would like to express their thanks to all the very talented students who entered, and to the teachers and tutors who supported them.

All contestants will receive some NZ Music Commission momentos and some written feedback, congratulating you on your strengths and helping you develop your songwriting skills further. These will be posted to the music teacher at your school before the end of term. Additionally, all those below will receive our limited edition “Award Winners’ ” tote bag.

Our thanks to the sponsors of the competition, without whom it could not succeed; MusicWorks, MENZA and The New Zealand Music Commission.

Hook, Line and Sing-A-Long 2019 Winner:
 “Aotearoa no te katoa” by Lucy Summerfield – Motueka High School

Hook, Line and Sing-A-Long Awards Results

2nd Place Runner up
“NZ Kai” by Josie Brownlie, Lucia Marshall, Stella Mc Combie – Waimairi School

Highly Commended Top 5
“Eyes of Aotearoa” by Tanika van Dijk – Onewhero Area School
“Aotearoa Our Greatest Legend” by Altanya Suparman, Madeleine Xiao, Lindsay Lagasca – Carmel College
“Aotearoa” by Te Wehi, Abbey, Niwa, Carla – Hamilton Girls’ High School

Distiction Awards
“Make Memories” by Kelly Mayz – Outstanding use of chord changes
“Living The Dream” by Aaron Worsnop, Kelly Chow, Amy Surarit, Emma de Laborde, Kevin Hong – Outstanding use of chord changes
“Mountains to the Sea” by Peyton Morete – Outstanding performance
“I’m A Kiwi Kid” by Seth Drury, performed by Seth Drury, Georgia Michelle Baker and Jade MacDonald – Outstanding performance
“Unite as One” by Holly Muirhead – Outstanding sentiment
“In Dear NZ” by Hadlee Goold, Anabel Louie, Isaac Larsen, Matthew Whitwell –
Outstanding arrangement

 by Sophie Choi, Amanda Yap, Annabel O’Rourke, Calista Ngadi, Janice Sutjiadi – Outstanding arrangement

Lyrics Awards
“Aotearoa our home” by Jora Quigley and Andrea Narruhn – Te Reo Māori Award
“Handle The Jandal” by Ben MacSweeney, Piper Wallis, Nadav Amir – Kiwi Vernacular Award
“Make Memories” by Kelly Mayz – Nostalgia Award